"Happy Hobby Sports Cards" Newsletter!
"Happy Hobby Sports Cards" Podcast!
[POD] Naming 2024 Topps Rookie Card All-Star Team! - 1.16
0:00
-25:15

[POD] Naming 2024 Topps Rookie Card All-Star Team! - 1.16

The MLB All-Star Game is here -- but card collectors are hunting rookie cards of the best players at each position from 2024 Topps Series 1 and 2!

Who doesn’t love the 2024 MLB All-Star break!?! Well, in the Happy Hobby Sports Card world, we take this time to reset, do a fun break of a 2023 Topps Pro Debut hobby box (with a giveaway on YouTube!), and we look back to figure out which of the players with 2024 Topps Rookie Cards from Series 1 and Series 2 are playing the best!?

In this podcast episode, we also discuss what happened at the Dallas Card Show, when someone stole a case full of about $2 million worth of sports cards, including rookie Mickey Mantle cards! How does this affect sports card shows going forward? We try to figure it out.

We also look at the Top 10 Athletes whose cards were graded by PSA in the month of June, 2024, according to GemRate.com. It’s interesting to note that FIVE basketball players made the top-10 on this list, but only two of them are active players!

Finally, I explain how our new “Happy Hobby Zoo” works, with our first resident, Ken Griffey Jr…. I mean Ken Gruffey Jr.! (We have fun.)

We also look at what’s happening in the Happy Hobby World, with links to our new articles listing the Best Topps Chrome Baseball Rookie Cards From Every Year on DavidGonos.com.

Let us know if you have any ideas for the podcast and/or the newsletter!

Have a Happy Hobby!


Subscribe to the Happy Hobby Sports Card Newsletter!

Visit DavidGonos.com for more sports card stories!

The Dandy Dozen Video Series – Best Players to Collect in Each Sport, in Each Era!


Connect with me on:

Email me: GonosCards@gmail.com

Podcast Music: "I dunno" by grapes - 2008 - Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution (3.0)

Discussion about this podcast

"Happy Hobby Sports Cards" Newsletter!
"Happy Hobby Sports Cards" Podcast!
Happy Hobby! We talk about sports card collecting hoping to help collectors working with a limited budget. With a positive, family friendly mindset, we discuss hobby news and recent releases, while also looking back and talking about vintage cards and players from decades past. It's like opening a pack of cards with 11 with different sports card subjects!
This podcast is essentially the read-out-loud version of the "Happy Hobby Newsletter," published every other Thursday on Substack.
I’m David Gonos, former Fantasy Sports columnist at CBS Sports, Sports Illustrated and The Athletic. In 2021, I was inducted into the Fantasy Sports Writers Hall of Fame. (No, really, that exists!) I’m also a sports card collector working with a limited budget, so I create content based around just that!
I got my YouTube channel going in 2021, and I’ve been posting two or three videos up each week ever since. It’s a fun, free, festive spot to talk about cards, collecting and … cards. I don’t take myself too seriously, so I beg that you don’t take me seriously either.
We also do a ton of giveaways to subscribers!